Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 20, 2010

Today is Sunday June 20, 2010.  In the United States this is Father’s Day.  This is a day when everyone pays tribute to their father.  We buy them presents and take them out to restaurants to eat a good meal.  We spend time with them to let them know how much we appreciate all the things they do or have done for us.

If you are interested in the technical details, here is a link to a complete explanation of the different customs observed by many of the countries in the world.  Father\’s Day

My father has been dead for twenty (20) years.  I miss my father.  He was a simple family man, loved his family and his life.  My father worked for the U.S. Federal Government until his retirement in 1980, after twenty years of service.  My father also served his country during World War II.  I never remember my father talking about his experiences during the war.

My father was not a perfect man, with many character faults and bad habits.  My father always tried his best and even if he did not always meet my expectations, he more often did.  It is easy for me, in hindsight, to pass judgement on my father, but I must remember that he did not have the luxury of hindsight.  He had to act in real-time, doing what he felt was best for his family.

That is what I remember best about my father.  He always did his best for his family.  I still love my father.

Here is my father’s picture,

闪电二十

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

